February 2012 Updates

Ok, so I know I’m a day late in posting this… but yesterday was Leap Day!  I think I get a little leeway with that one.

February wasn’t so great for me on the fashion front.  I guess February is when the real work has to set in… the excitement of the new year and all it has to offer has worn off and real life has hit.  I still tried, but don’t feel that I tried hard enough.  It’s funny that to be fashionable, you have to continue to shop and acquire new things.  Doesn’t have to be much- a scarf, necklace, purse, new pair of shoes or a little something for your hair- but you still have to do it.  I shopped quite a bit in December and January and thought it would be enough…I realized in February that it was not.

Anyways… here’s the lowdown on the February outfits:

Outfit #1: This is a simple look that I would usually wear with a small but important twist… the necklace.  Now, if you know anything about me, you know that I would never pick something like this out myself.  I actually owe this one to my cousin’s new wife.  I stood up in their wedding and this is something she picked out for the bridesmaids. And I have to say, it’s VERY cute and adds some much needed flare to a simple outfit.  Got the necklace at Charming Charlies…definitely a place I need to hit up again and SOON.

Outfit #2: Again, a simple outfit with a little twist.  This time I tried a headband.  This is my first headband that I have owned since I was a kid.  And this one is all thanks to a coworker.  One of the girls that I work with started Natural Essentials by BCM and she makes hair accessories.  I thought I would give it a try- and I like it!!  It’s a simple way to spice up an outfit without really trying too hard.  Must get more hair accessories in the near future too.

Outfit #3:  This is a variation of an outfit I would normally wear, just with a belt.  (Starting to see a theme in February yet?? It’s all about the little things…)  Not really much of a fan of the belt- hard to sit in them and tend to move your clothes in a weird way if you aren’t paying attention.  But like my Aunt always told me “you have to suffer to be beautiful”.  So, I suffer to look cute to others.  Hope it’s working 🙂

Outfit #4: Now this is similar to the outfit I wore in January and by far my favorite in February too.  ( I really think it’s the boots)  With black tights and a long sleeved black shirt underneath a gray dress, this starts off as a little dreary of an outfit.  But with the boots that have a pop of color and the scarf to match, it turns out to be a real crowd pleaser.

Outfit #5: Finally… the last week of the month.  This was a lazy outfit indeed… Long-sleeved white shirt with a yellow tee over it and paired with a green and yellow scarf.  Nothing to be real proud of, but at least it had a bit of color with it.

Now, I should probably mention that I wasn’t so great at sticking to the one fashionable day of the week- Wednesday.  I still did one day a week, but it wasn’t always a Wednesday.  I guess setting a standard day was too hard for me.  Fashion is also about attitude.  You need the right attitude to wear an outfit or try something new.  And it turns out that, for me, I didn’t always have that right attitude on a Wednesday.  So, sorry to anyone that may have been looking forward to seeing me on a Wednesday and hoping for something cute… but thanks for staying confident and supportive along the way.

I’m desperately in need of some quick, cute, cheap and easy fashion tips- as I am sure you can tell from the photos this month… So, if you have any good advice on cool new places to check out for accessories or stylish clothes, or something quick that I can do to spice up an outfit, lay it on me.  I’m definitely open to new ideas.

Thanks and here’s to a more fashionable March ahead 🙂

This entry was posted in Helpful Tips, Inspirational, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February 2012 Updates

  1. Jan Wencel says:

    Love the “little things” theme as well as the renegotiation of the Wednesday to one day a week.

    I often copy a color combo from a woman I used to work with: red + new-school men’s blue button down blue. It generates compliments every time. And noticeable lipstick is another way to punch it up a notch…even if the clothing is not punched.

    Three cheers for March!

Leave a Reply

