The Five Dysfunctions of a Team

So, this year I decided that I really need to start reading more of the books that I continuously add to my reading list and somehow never seem to find the time to read them–I am now making time.  I feel that it is so important to keep educated and learning more about how to work on a team more efficiently, communication and overall tips to be a better marketer–and let’s face it, we all need to learn these things.  So I started this year off with a book called The Five Dysfunctions of a Team by Patrick Leonici.

This book was written in such a way that made me feel as though I was reading a book about my own experiences of working on a team.  It details out the types of coworkers that you find in pretty much any organization…the difference is that this book explains in more detail how those different types of coworkers affect the productivity of the team.  Being able to identify personalities and understanding how each personality type plays into how the team functions inevitably gives you a sense of what may or may not need to change within your team to bring you to the next level of being productive.  The 5 dysfunctions that are mentioned in the book seem so simple, yet rarely are they acted upon within an organization to make long lasting changes.

After reading the book I can understand why that is, the resistance to change.  DUH.  As we all know very well, there is much resistance to change regardless of where you are: work, home, school, etc.  And I feel (after reading this book) that it is largely in part due to the fact that the individuals who need to make changes don’t understand the benefits that would come from adjusting their actions and reactions to situations. The book gives a few hints, details and exercises that you can do as a team to try to help these individuals become aware of the changes that need to be made–that is if they really want to be part of the team.  And if they don’t, these exercises may help them realize that so you can find the right person to fill that role.

I don’t want to spoil the book by listing out the Five Dysfunctions, but what I can say is that when you see them listed out they all seem really simple–but as you read into each dysfunction and the how they are played out within a team it makes you stop and identify where it may be happening in your team and how difficult it may be to reverse the issues. All-in-all, I really enjoyed reading this book and look forward to reading his next book: Overcoming the Five Dysfunctions of a Team. It’s a pretty quick read, so if you have a few hours I highly recommend it.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

