Is it true… is money not the best motivator??

Hmm, interesting reading… The other day I got an email from Vault Career Weekly Newsletter (something I signed up for when I was searching for a job, but found that the articles that are emailed out are often quite interesting so I decided to keep receiving them–and I’m glad I did.  If you haven’t signed up for them, you can sign up here) and in the email there was a very interesting article: Money isn’t the best motivator.  That immediately grabbed my attention so I decided to click through and read the article.  I was actually quite surprised by the information in the article and how much I really agree to it.

The video in the link above is only about 11 minutes… I highly recommend that you take the time to watch it. (there is also a link to the full 40-something minute presentation in the article linked above as well- I haven’t had that time yet, but after watching the 11 minute video know that I will find time to do so). 

Here are just a FEW of the learnings that I took away from the video (don’t want to give them all away and make you feel as though you just wasted 11 minutes of your life–we all know how valuable our time is):

  1. We are not as endlessly manipulable and predictable as you would think
  2. The BEST use of money at work is to pay people enough money to take the issue of money off the table.  Meaning, a person’s salary is enough so that they aren’t always thinking about money at work and they are actually thinking about WORK at WORK– Imagine that!
  3. Three factors that lead to better performance and personal satisfaction: Autonomy, mastery and purpose

Again, I strongly encourage you to watch the video and make your own decision as to what kind of worker you are and if you agree with the idea that people will work harder if they are given the chance, rather than just the option of a larger bonus.  I definitely agree and someday hope to find a place fulfills my sense of purpose and gives me a reason to get up each day and come to work– a reason other than just money.

Let me know your thoughts on the video, article or just your take on money as a motivator in the workplace.

This entry was posted in Inspirational, Workplace. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is it true… is money not the best motivator??

  1. Jan Wencel says:

    Great post, Kim. I had the pleasure of seeing Pink speak earlier this year. Terrifically engaging & research-packed content to boot.

Leave a Reply

