Maybe it’s just me…

Maybe it is just me, but here are a few things that I have noticed lately that have really been weighing on me…

1. The Election: Now, I have been of voting age for about 10 years now and have participated in MANY elections-from National elections for President to small town elections for treasurer- and I NEVER remember any election being as bad as this upcoming one.  (Before I continue, I want to preface again that I am NOT political in any way– meaning, I don’t side with the Republicans or the Democrats)  Leading up to this election, I have seen way too many TV ads, billboards and radio commercials about the candidates… but if you were to ask me to name just one thing that each candidate-or even just one candidate-stands for, I wouldn’t be able to do it.  Why you ask.  I’ll tell you why… because these ads don’t tell you anything about what each candidate stands for and the changes that they want to help implement in our city, state or country.  These ads only help to bash the other opponents in the race for their government spot.  Today I got 6 postcards in the mail about the candidates… 6. And none of them really told me anything about any of the candidates.  How am I expected to make an informed decision on who I think would do the best job and vote without getting any information on anyone.

I read that in the past two decades, the number of 18-20 or 21-30 year old voters have declined. Not just the number of younger people who actually vote but the number of people who are actually registered to vote.  In my opinion, this is partially caused by the fact that the advertising going on during campaign times is increasingly getting more combative rather than informative.  As the ads and debates simply point out how bad their other running mates are, no one really learns anything about the candidates.  When you listen to one TV ad and it bashes candidate A to pieces only to tell you to vote for candidate B and the one that follows is about candidate B and how bad he is and that candidate A is the better candidate, what are you supposed to believe?  I think when it comes to this, the younger generation decides that they really don’t care to “investigate” what each candidate stands for to make an educated vote and instead just opt to not vote at all.  This doesn’t seem like the right method of campaigning – at least not what I remember campaigning to be when I was back in high school.  Although, maybe it’s just me who feels this way…

2. Halloween Costumes: It seems like in the past couple of years it has become increasingly harder to find a good halloween costume that isn’t super cheesy and something that your parents would only wear, or overly scandalous and sexy.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that there shouldn’t be costumes out there that are “sexy” for those who choose to wear them –as I might have done back in my college days- I’m just saying that there should be other options available for us who want to look good and wear a great costume but not want to show off too much.  Maybe it is just me who feels this way, but then again, maybe it’s not.

Let me know what you’re thinking of that makes you sit and think “maybe it’s just me”

This entry was posted in Government, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

